{Recipe} Molasses Spice Cookies

There is nothing quite like freshly baked cookies to brighten my mood on a cold, grey, dreary sort of day. As they bake, their smell fills the house, making it feel just a bit cozier. I like to eat my first one while it’s still warm, and I love to watch as my kids reach their little hands up to the counter to “sneak” one for themselves.

Molasses Spice Cookies

These cookies aren’t fancy. In fact, when I took the first batch out of the oven I was a little disappointed by just how un-fancy they looked. That feeling, however, only lasted until I took my first bite. Despite their rather humble appearance, these cookies are truly exceptional. I have actually made them twice in the past week because they keep disappearing so quickly. Even my Dad (who claims not to like molasses cookies) couldn’t stop eating these. They’re just that good.

So, on to the instructions. I’m not kidding when I say these are ‘fast & easy’. The only ‘hard’ part is rolling the very soft dough into balls and then rolling the balls in sugar without smooshing them. This really isn’t ‘hard’ so much as it is a bit messy. Or maybe that’s because I let my 3-year-old help me. But there you go – they’re so easy a 3-year-old can make them 😉

Low Sodium Molasses Spice Cookie Recipe

Josh is on a super low-sodium diet, so most of the recipes I post here are adapted to reduce the sodium content as much as possible. How did I change this recipe to make it “low-sodium”? I left out the salt and (as mentioned above) used sodium-free baking powder. Adapting cookie recipes is just that easy. It’s a bit trickier if the recipe calls for baking soda, but I will address that in another post. I honestly prefer cookies made this way and I am not on a low-sodium diet, I just think they taste better. I have gotten so used to them, in fact, that now, when I eat “regular” cookies I tend to think they taste overly salty. Go figure.

Olly & I Making Cookies

Olly & I Making Cookies

Stacey_Sig_laurel

Can I just say that these are outstanding cookies? I guess I just did. Might as well say it again though, these are outstanding cookies.

Josh_Signature

One thought on “{Recipe} Molasses Spice Cookies

  1. Pingback: Mouse in an Altoids Tin ‘Bed’ – DIY Valentine’s Day Gift for Kids |

Leave a Comment